Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

Home Members Kyle H Montgomery


  • Organization
    Air Force Research Laboratory

  • Employment Type
    Government Agency

  • Address(es)
    Enter an Address

  • Biography

    Kyle Montgomery is a research engineer working at the Air Force Research Laboratory. Previously, he was a research scientist and lecturer in the Electrical & Computer Engineering Department at the University of California (UC) Davis. Kyle currently serves on the Young Professionals Committee of the IEEE Electron Device Society (EDS) and the Organizing Committee of the IEEE Photovoltaic Specialists Conference (PVSC). He completed his Ph.D. in Electrical & Computer Engineering from Purdue University in August 2012. Prior to his graduate studies, Kyle received a B.S. from the University of Houston in 2004 and then spent three years developing and building rugged electrical component test systems for Schlumberger, an oilfield service company. While at Purdue, Kyle received the SMART Scholarship award through the US Department of Defense, the Homeland Security-STEM Career Development Fellowship, as well as honorable mention for the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. His Ph.D. research focused on novel approaches for wide band gap solar cells with application to ultra-high efficiency multijunction solar cells. His current research interests include development of wide bandgap solar cells for multijunction and high temperature applications, as well as synthesizing novel semiconductor alloys for optimal performance in visible wavelength LEDs and solar cells. Kyle fabricates and characterizes devices, but also works on epitaxial growth using molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) and liquid phase epitaxy (LPE), a long-lost growth technique., a resource for nanoscience and nanotechnology, is supported by the National Science Foundation and other funding agencies. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.