Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

Home Members Zlatan Aksamija


  • Organization
    University of Massachusetts Amherst

  • Employment Type
    University / College Faculty

  • Address(es)
    201B Marcus Hall
    100 Natural Resources Way
    Amherst MA, 01003

  • Biography

    Zlatan Aksamija graduated from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, with a B.S. in Computer Engineering in 2003 and a M.S in Electrical Engineering in 2005. He graduated with Highest Honors and as an Edmund C. James Scholar. Zlatan received his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois in the Computational Multiscale Nanostructures group under the guidance of Prof. Umberto Ravaioli. Zlatan’s dissertation focused on the mechanisms of heat generation and transfer in nanoscale semiconductor devices, and efficient numerical algorithms for their simulation. He is the recipient of several awards, including the Gregory M. Stillman memorial graduate research award from the University of Illinois ECE department, and the First Place and Outstanding Paper awards from the IEEE Region 4 Committee for the 2007 Electro-Information Technology conference. Zlatan is also the recipient of several fellowships, including the prestigious Computational Science Graduate Fellowship from the Department of Energy and the Micron Foundation Graduate Fellowship. After the completion of his doctoral studies in 2009, Zlatan pursued a post-doctoral appointment in the Nanoelectronics Theory group at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, working on simulation of thermoelectric devices with the support from the Computing Innovation Postdoctoral Fellowship from the Computing Research Association and the “Transformative Computational Science through Cyber-Infrastructure” (CI TraCS) Postdoctoral Fellowship from the National Science Foundation., a resource for nanoscience and nanotechnology, is supported by the National Science Foundation and other funding agencies. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.