Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

Home Members Kei May Lau


  • Organization
    Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

  • Employment Type
    University / College Faculty

    Enter your ORCID.

  • Address(es)
    Enter an Address

  • Biography
    Chair Professor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Kei May Lau received the B.S. and M.S. degrees in physics from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, and the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Rice University, Houston, Texas. She worked on epitaxial growth of GaAs for microwave devices at M/A-COM Gallium Arsenide Products, Inc. for two years, before joining the faculty of Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Massachusetts/Amherst. Prof. Lau initiated MOCVD, compound semiconductor materials and devices programs at UMass. Her research group conducted research on heterostructures, quantum wells, strained-layers, III-V selective epitaxy, high frequency and photonic devices. Professor Lau spent her first sabbatical leave in 1989 at the MIT Lincoln Laboratory and worked with the Electro-optical Devices Group. She developed acoustic sensors at the DuPont Central Research and Development Laboratory in Wilmington, Delaware during her second sabbatical leave ('95- '96). Since the fall of 2000, she has been with the Electronic and Computer Engineering Department at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). She established the Photonics Technology Center for R&D effort in III-V materials, optoelectronic, high power, and high-speed devices. Professor Lau is a Fellow of the IEEE, and a recipient of the National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Awards for Women (FAW) Scientists and Engineers (1995) and Croucher Senior Research Fellowship (2008). She served on the IEEE Electron Devices Society Administrative Committee and was an Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices (1996-2002). She also serves on the Electronic Materials Committee of the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS), and was an Editor of the Journal of Crystal Growth., a resource for nanoscience and nanotechnology, is supported by the National Science Foundation and other funding agencies. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.