Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

Home Tools Virtual Kinetics of Materials Laboratory: Spinodal Decomposition 3D About

Virtual Kinetics of Materials Laboratory: Spinodal Decomposition 3D

By Michael Waters1, R. Edwin García2, Alex Bartol2

1. University of Michigan 2. Purdue University

Simulates the Time-Dependent Segregation of Two Chemical Components

Launch Tool

You must login before you can run this tool.

Version 0.1.2 - published on 27 Apr 2015

doi:10.4231/D3C824F9W cite this

Open source: license | download

View All Supporting Documents



Published on


Virtual Kinetics of Materials Laboratory : Spinodal Decomposition 3D applies the classic Cahn-Hilliard equation to simulate the time-dependent segregation of two chemical components in three dimensions. Default values are physical but arbitrary. The presented model is based on the phase field method (see cited literature below). NOTE: The present release does not display results in real time. GIF animation is not enabled. See other VKML modules here: VKML : Dendritic Growth VKML : Polycrystalline Growth and Coarsening VKML : Spinodal Decomposition VKML : Spinodal Decomposition 3D

Powered by



Written in Python


Michael Waters And R. Edwin García


Cahn J.W. On spinodal decomposition. Acta Metall 1961;9: 795–801.

Cahn JW, Hilliard JE. Free energy of a nonuniform system. I. Interfacial free energy. J Chem Phys 1958;28:258–67.

Cahn JW. Free energy of a nonuniform system. II. Thermodynamic basis. J Chem Phys 1959;30:1121–4.

Cite this work

Researchers should cite this work as follows:

  • Michael Waters; R. Edwin García; Alex Bartol (2015), "Virtual Kinetics of Materials Laboratory: Spinodal Decomposition 3D," (DOI: 10.4231/D3C824F9W).

    BibTex | EndNote

Tags, a resource for nanoscience and nanotechnology, is supported by the National Science Foundation and other funding agencies. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.