Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

Home Groups Challenges in PV Science, Technology, and Manufacturing: A workshop on the role of theory, modeling, and simulation
  • Discoverability Visible
  • Join Policy Closed
  • Created 01 Jun 2012

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Welcome and Perspectives - Mark Lundstrom

7:30-8:00AM      Breafast and Registration
8:00-8:20AM      Mark Lundstrom (Purdue) Opening Remarks
8:20-8:40AM      Dick Swanson (SunPower)
8:40-9:00AM      Bill Tumas (NREL)
9:00-9:20AM      Eli Yablonovitch (Berkeley)
9:20-10:00AM    Panel Discussion – Steve Hillenius (SRC)

10:00-10:30AM BREAK

Technical Session 1:
Crystalline PV – Larry Kazmerski

10:30-10:50AM  Richard Schwartz (Purdue)
10:50-11:10AM  Tonio Buonassisi (MIT)
11:10-11:30AM  Dick Swanson (SunPower)
11:30-11:50AM  Scott Dunham (U Wash)
11:50-12:30PM   Panel Discussion – Larry Kazmerski (NREL)

12:30-1:30PM    WORKING LUNCH
                        SERIIUS by Larry Kazmerski
                        SRC ERI by Steve Hillenius
                        BAPVC by John Benner

Technical Session 2:
Thin-Film PV – Rakesh Agrawal

1:30-1:50PM      Vladan Stevanovic (NREL)
1:50-2:10PM      Vikram Dalal (Iowa)
2:10-2:30PM      Supratik Guha (IBM)
2:30-2:50PM      Marcus Gloeckler (First Solar)
2:50-3:30PM      Panel Discussion - Rakesh Agrawal (Purdue)
3:30-3:50PM  BREAK

Technical Session 3:
Organic PV – Jeff Neaton

3:50-4:10PM      Sean Shaheen (U. Denver)
4:10-4:30PM      Gang Li (UCLA)
4:30-4:50PM      M. Ashraf Alam (Purdue)
4:50-5:10PM      Seth B. Darling (Argonne)
5:10-5:50PM      Panel Discussion – Jeff Neaton (LBL)
6:00PM             RECEPTION – Armstrong Atrium

7:00PM             DINNER

Followed by Demonstration of nanoHUB and PVhub
By Gerhard Klimeck


Friday, August 3, 2012

Technical Session 4
Characterization, Modeling and Simulation – John Benner

7:30-8:00AM    Breakfast
8:00-8:20AM    Dean Levi (NREL)
8:20-8:40AM    Angus Rockett (UIUC)
8:40-9:00AM    Jim Sites (Colorado State)
9:00-9:20AM    Rachel Goldman (Michigan)
9:20-10:00AM   Panel Discussion –  John Benner


Breakout 0: Broad Issues (ARMS 1021 Room) – B.J. Stanbery
Breakout 1: Crystalline PV (ARMS Room 1028) – Bob Havemann
Breakout 2: Thin-Film (ARMS Room1103) – Oki Guanwan
Breakout 3: OPV (ARMS Room 3109) – Jim Yardley
Breakout 4: Characterization (ARMS Room 3115) – David Ginley

11:30-12:30PM WRAP-UP

Breakout discussion leaders summarize their two slides and the audience responds. (10 min per topic)


1:30PM - Tour of the Birck Facilities - Ali Shakouri, Director


August 2-3, 2012

Invitation only

Purdue University
Neil Armstrong Hall of Engineering
Room 1010
701 West Stadium Avenue
West Lafayette, IN 47907, a resource for nanoscience and nanotechnology, is supported by the National Science Foundation and other funding agencies. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.